Every year we award a $500 Alan Nilson Memorial Scholarship to a graduating senior who has shown exceptional talent in any artistic or creative endeavor; who has shared those talents with their community; and who plans to use their gifts in the future to enrich the lives of those around them.

We consider all avenues of the creative arts when selecting recipients: dance, theatre, music, graphic design, visual art, and industrial craft.

Kyle Moyer is the 2023 recipient of the Allan Nilson Memorial ZAAC Scholarship. Klye plans to attend the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities to major in management information systems and minor in music.

Sheridan Wilson is the 2022 ZAAC Allan Nilson Memorial Scholarship recipient has been selected. Sheridan plans to major in graphic arts at Luther College.

Soren Hellyer is the 2021 recipient of the ZAAC Scholarship. He is currently studying math and engineering at Iowa State University at Ames, IA, and enjoying being a member of the band.

The 2020 recipient is Abigail Voss. She will graduate with an associate’s degree from RCTC and plans to pursue a degree in Biology and Musical Theatre.

The 2019 scholarship was awarded to Emily Haugen who is planning to study theatre production at Gustavus Adolphus in St. Peter.

The 2018 scholarship was awarded to Cooper Utley who is attending the College of St. Scholastica in Duluth.

The 2017 scholarship was awarded to Bethany Renken who plans to major in Community Art at Wheaton College in Wheaton, Illinois.

The 2016 scholarship was awarded to Alec Hunstad who plans to study art and animation at the Savannah College of Art and Design in Georgia.

The 2015 scholarship was awarded to Jerrill Guider. Guider hopes to continue his education at Rochester Community and Technical College.

The 2014 scholarship was awarded to Gartner Griffen. Griffen is attending Minnesota State University – Mankato.

The 2013 scholarship was awarded to Echo Henn, who will be attending Winona State University in Winona, Minnesota. Echo intends to pursue a degree in graphic design.

The 2012 scholarship was awarded to Corbin Renken, who will be attending Wheaton College in Wheaton, Illinois. Corbin is a saxophone player and actor.

The 2011 scholarship was awarded to Kaia Sand, who will be attending Luther College in Decorah, Iowa. Kaia is a singer, actor, musician and visual artist. She plans to pursue degrees in oboe performance and English with a writing emphasis.

The 2010 scholarship was awarded to Helena Osswald, who will be attending the University of Minnesota in the Twin Cities. Helena is an actor and visual artist.

The 2009 scholarship was awarded to Dylon Starr, who will be attending Winona State University in Winona, Minnesota. He plans to major in elementary education. Dylon is an actor and musician.

The 2006 scholarship was awarded to Gunter Mussell, who will be attending Luther College in Decorah, Iowa.